The Australia Awards Scholarships 2022/23 - THE MIGRATION HQ - Scholarships, Visa Guides, Jobs and Education


The Australia Awards Scholarships 2022/23

Australia Awards Scholarships, formerly known as Australian Development Scholarships (ADS) is here again for the 2022/23 session.

The Australia Awards Scholarships provides long-term financial aid to international students. It is sponsored by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

The aim of this scholarship program is to contribute to the development needs of Australia's partner countries in line with bilateral and regional agreements.

The Australia Awards Scholarships offers an opportunity for international students from developing countries. It allows students from the Indo-Pacific region countries to have their full time undergraduate or postgraduate study easily.

The host Institutions are the participating Australian universities and Technical and Further Education (TAFE) institutions.

The study and academic opportunities offered by the Australia Awards Scholarships will bring out the skills and knowledge of the selected applicants. In turn, this will make them drive changes and contribute to development in their home countries.

Host Institutions

Since this is a joint scholarship program, many Australian institutions are hosting it. You can apply to any of them. Visit this webpage to see the list of participating institutions.

Education Level Coverage

The levels of education covered by this scholarship program are undergraduate and postgraduate. This includes master's and doctoral degree programs.

Eligible Courses

Programs that are related to what your country needs for development are most available.

However, the Australia Awards Scholarships does not cover programs involving training in flying aircraft, nuclear technology, military training and related areas.

Eligible Nationality

International students from any of the participating countries are eligible to apply. The eligible countries are in Asia, the Pacific, Africa, and the Middle East. You can view the complete list of eligible countries here.

In Asia

  1. ASEAN
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. Cambodia
  5. Indonesia
  6. Laos
  7. Maldives
  8. Mongolia
  9. Myanmar
  10. Nepal
  11. Pakistan
  12. Philippines
  13. Sri Lanka
  14. Timor-Leste
  15. Vietnam

In the Pacific

  1. Federated States of Micronesia
  2. Fiji
  3. Kiribati
  4. Marshall Islands
  5. Nauru
  6. Papua New Guinea
  7. Samoa
  8. Solomon Islands
  9. Tuvalu
  10. Vanuatu

In the Middle East

  1. Palestinian Territories

Scholarship Value And Added Benefits

The Australia Awards Scholarships are provided to selected applicants for the minimum duration needed to complete their academic course program.

The required duration must have been specified by the Australian institution beforehand. Here is the full list of the benefits that selected applicants will enjoy.

1. Fully funded tuition fees

2. The return air travel will be taken care of. It must be a single return, and the student must use the economy class airfare to and from Australia.

3. A One-time allowance will be given to the international students. It is to cater for the accommodation expenses, textbooks, study materials.

4. An allowance will also be granted to cater for the student's basic living expenses. The amount to be given will be determined by the host institution.

5. Additional academic support will also be provided should the need arise. This is to make sure the student performs well in his/her academics.

The Australia Awards Scholarships - Terms and Conditions

Interested applicants that want to apply for an Australia Awards Scholarship must sign a contract with the Commonwealth of Australia.

The contract necessitates that the student complies with the terms and conditions of the scholarship program.

One of the terms and conditions is that the student must leave Australia for a least two years after completing their education in the country. 

If the student fails to honour this contract, he/she will incur a debt for the total accrued cost of their scholarship.

Requirements for the Australia Awards Scholarships 2022/23

1. The international student must be at least 18 years of age, before or on the 1st of February, 2023.

2. Interested applicants must be a citizen of an eligible country. Also, the applicant must be residing in and applying for the scholarship from their home country.

3. The student must not be a citizen of Australia, hold permanent residency in Australia or be applying for a visa to live in Australia permanently

4. Must not be married to, engaged to, or a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency.

5. Interested applicants must not be currently serving as military personnel.

6. The international student must not have obtained a long-term Australia Award in the past. An exception to this is if the student has resided outside of Australia for twice the length of the total time that he/she was in Australia.

Deadline for the Australia Awards Scholarships 2022/23

The closing date for the Australia Awards Scholarships programs varies depending on the applicants' home country. You can see the full list of the closing dates here.

Generally, the earliest closing date is on the 29th of April, 2022.